The Most Wonderful Time of the Year!

For those of you who follow Reflections of the Garden Classroom, you are indeed getting another email featuring the same story that I published yesterday. After I published the story, I realized I that I had not included the title. Somehow, when I went to correct it, I managed to lose the complete post and had to do it all over again. For those of you who know me well, you know how much I love technology. Grrrrr…..

Image

Do you remember the ad on television featuring a parent pushing a shopping cart down the aisle at Staples Office Supplies and gleefully tossing school supplies into the cart? Meanwhile, a couple of kids are walking behind the parent all glum faced, with the classic holiday song, “The Most Wonderful Time of the Year” playing. I laughed every time I saw it! As a parent with teenagers at the time, I will admit I was a bit relieved they were returning to school. Now, you may be wondering how a teacher feels about returning to school after a break.

Image

September is exciting. While I am, personally, a bit reluctant to leave my lazy days of sleeping in and lots of opportunities to go camping, I really look forward to reuniting with my co-teachers and welcoming our young students back to our beautiful, clean and organized classrooms. But let me tell you what “the most wonderful time of the year” is: RIGHT NOW!

Image

Every teacher I have ever worked with will agree with me that welcoming our students back to school in January, after the holidays is the best time of year. The children are all feeling confident and demonstrating a huge leap in abilities and skills. Nowhere is this more apparent than with our current group of 5 Day kiddos!

Image

First of all, this group of children resides in a special place in my heart. They are the very first group of Hanna students to have have experienced the Garden Classroom in Transition, and 3 Day, and now in the 5 Day program. They not only know the Garden Classroom, they OWN it! So it is bringing me such pleasure to be looking around each day and see that these children are totally engaged and learning and, and many cases, showcasing their abilities. I wish I had thought last week to take a picture looking across the entire Garden Classroom, so you could see how there were small groups of children engaged in every center and activity.

Image

Image

So here’s to the most wonderful time of year, where the children are not only busy building, creating, experimenting and communicating, but also exhibiting the skills that come from our having given them the time, materials and belief that play is essential to a child’s growth and development.

Image

 With Joy! 

Francie

 

3 thoughts on “The Most Wonderful Time of the Year!

  1. Our kids are so lucky to have such a passionate teacher and facilitator! Your garden is pure magic!

Leave a Reply

