An Absence Explained

I am very sad to share with you that my mother has passed away. She had been in the hospital for 5 weeks. We had hoped and prayed that she would recover and continue to enrich our lives with her effervescent personality, curiosity and unconditional love. I along with my two sisters, one brother, two children, two grandchildren, one nephew plus many cousins and step-brothers and all our spouses are devastated. I know people can’t live forever. I especially knew that. I experienced the extremely, unexpected death of my father when he was only 49 years old. But as many as you know, a mother’s love and caring never ends.  Our relationship was never perfect, but I always knew she loved me. It was the ultimate safety net. It is very hard to fathom that she is gone. 

 

So I am sharing this with you, not because I want to say anything particularly profound or meaningful, but to send out a message of gratefulness for being the daughter of a loving mother.

Dolores “Dolly” Guidry Doucette 1931- 2013

 

 

 

Image

!955

Image

2013

.

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “An Absence Explained

  1. Francie, I wish I was there to give you a hug.
    I am so sorry for your profound loss. Blessed be her memory!

  2. I’m so sorry for your loss Francie. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and feelings.
    She has a most beautiful smile.

  3. Dear Francie,

    Thank you for sharing your loving thoughts about your mother. I’m so glad I had a chance to meet her. Her vivacious personality was immediately apparent even though I only met her once. Cherish the memories. Take care of yourself.

    Love, Eva

  4. Francie,
    Your Mom was a very special Lady to me and was a very very special Aunt to John. We loved her so much. I too had a hard time when I lost my Mom. I think about her each day and talk to her ofter. She guides me through some tough times. Your Mom will do the same for you. She will never leave your heart! She will ALWAYS be there with you sitting on your shoulder. Think of all the fabulous memories your have of your times with her and it will help you get through the rough moments. They say it gets better in time and it does.
    We love you!
    Kim and John

  5. My Dear Cousin: So beautiful are your words as was your wonderful and beautiful Mother. I know it is how hard to realize that she gone and so soon after my Mom but now they are just the beautiful memories of the 3 sisters who were are so unique in their own beautiful way! I will miss my Dear Aunt Dolly and our Saturday chats were always such a kick with her sense of humor and knowledge of so many topics. I know God will keep your strong along with Tricia, Glen and Caryl. God Bless you All! Love Jeanie

Leave a Reply

