Another Artist is Inspired by the Yellow Book

After the first successful use of The Game of Mix-Up Art (otherwise known as our yellow book/design book) I was excited to see what would happen with the group of 5 Day children who invariably come to visit the Outdoor Atelier each day to paint at the easel. Would any of them be inspired by the designs in our yellow book as they worked at the easel? Or could their attention be drawn to the nearby round table where a variety of drawing and coloring materials were gathered in a tray?

As you can see by the first picture I posted in my previous entry featuring the yellow book, one gifted artist was inspired by the book and created a vivid drawing using large blocks of colors and a squiggly line drawn through it.

After finishing up her drawing, the artist created another piece at the easel. Looking at this composition, I can see where the artist experimented with a variety of brush strokes to get a sumptuous riot of complementary color and line- both thick and thin. I believe the results to be extremely pleasing. Don’t you think?

Image  I  felt honored to have witnessed such fine artistry, and pleased that my purchase inspired our young artists.

Before leaving, I need to share with you my latest purchase, a book I was led to while pursuing the name of the “yellow book.”  My discovery, What Colour is your World? by Bob Gill is a reissue of a book printed over 40 years ago by the same publishing house as The Game of Mix-Up Art. I have to admit, it’s a lot like, If You Give a Mouse a Cookie: if you go to Amazon to research one book – you will buy another.

With Joy! Francie

Leave a Reply

